Press 媒体评论

Composer Yao Chen in the Media:

…par­tic­u­larly expres­sive and direct… There’s an incred­i­ble sense of spa­cious­ness and open­ness in his music: it was about con­vey­ing an inten­sity of the emo­tion…

-Civitas Ensemble

…intensely driven…In Chen Yao’s Yearning, the powerful storms that erupted from Deng’s delicate-looking guzheng more than equaled the expressive depth of Armstrong’s double bass.

-Chicago Classical Review

Yao Chen’s O… What an Awakening turned out to be a study of the nature of performance. It was as much an exploration of the relationships among conductor, vocalist, and ensemble as one of the logic, grammar, and rhetoric behind the score itself.  Chen seemed [interested] in the interplay of sound and silence. The audience was led into that interplay by the composer having the conductor, soloist, and ensemble each lapse into similar periods of “going through the motions.” This created a sense of music being present without being heard, rather in the manner of a Zen koan.

-San Francisco’s

O… What an Awakening had a strong theatrical element. Musically, it amounted to an effort to reconceive everyday sounds through instrumental and vocal resources. However, the visual impressions of the discipline through which those resources captured material that was originally spontaneous were clearly part of the audience experience. One was thus drawn into a world that was neither mundane nor crafted according to some elaborate plan, a world in which the audience could experience the “making process” with greater intimacy. That intimacy was then challenged by a silence that intrudes upon the sounds themselves but not on the physical motions of the performers…

Stephen Smoliar SF Classical Music Examiner September 28, 2013

Brilliant orchestral color marked Yao’s Two Poems for chamber orchestra… haunting atmosphere which bears Ravel’s timbral stamp.

-The Columbus Dispatch

%d bloggers like this: